Visit Sagrada Familia

TICKET SAGRADA FAMILIA ONLINE.

#sagrada

ticket

Sagrada Familia

The symbolic monument of Barcelona.

The Sagrada Familia is the most emblematic monument of Catalan Modernism. Unfinished work of the genius Antoni Gaudí. The Sagrada Familia attracts more than 3.2 million visitors and thus becomes the most visited monument in Spain, in front of the Prado Museum in Madrid. In 2005, the crypt and facade of the nativity designed by Antoni Gaudí was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. As Sagrada Familia is an expiatory temple, it could not benefit from public funding. All the work was financed by almsgiving and the funds collected during the visits. The Sagrada Familia has become an increasingly popular monument with an increasing number of visitors since 1992.

The first architect was Francisco de Paula del Villar y Lozano, he imagined a church in the Neo-Gothic style. Bishop José Maria de Urquinaona y Vidot laid the first stone in 1882. In 1883, after many disagreements, Gaudí, then 31 years old, was recommended by his predecessor to bring a more ambitious project of the Sagrada Familia.

ticket-sagrada-familia

Hyperbolic pillars and vaults inside the Basilica.

An ambitious project.

Antoni Gaudí wanted to make the Sagrada Familia the highest and most imposing monument in Barcelona. He then decided to devote the rest of his career to the monument and imposed its dimensions. 4500 m², 120 metres long, a gigantic nave that can accommodate 14,000 people. An innovative structure such as the chain arch and hyperbolic vaults. In 1885, Antoni Gaudí inaugurated the Crypt, the construction team consisted only of 8 men labourers, 10 stonemasons, 12 sculptors and carpenters. It is with the complexity of such a grandiose project that Gaudí finally understood that he would never see the Sagrada Familia completed during his lifetime.

Rather than focusing on the central part of the Sagrada Familia such as the nave, Antoni Gaudí was afraid that the project would be abandoned upon his death if the work did not seem unusual. That is why 6 years later, the workers began work on the Nativity façade.

Gaudí wanted to complete this disproportionate door, thus making it possible to launch a whole large-scale project. Overthrown by a tramway on June 10, 1926, he was buried in the Crypt of the Chapel of the Mother of God.

For 10 years, Antoni Gaudí’s assistant, Domènec Sugrañes, continued the unfinished work with the completion of the 3 towers to complete the Nativity façade. On July 10, 1936, Catalan Anticlericals set fire to Gaudí’s workshop where all his plans, drafts and models were kept. Everything was destroyed. There were no documents left to complete the work.

In 1944, work resumed under the direction of architects Francesc Quintana, Isidre Puig i Boada and Lluís Bonet i Garí, and they carried out this difficult task. Jaume Busquets did a real work of sculpture. Josep Maria Subirachs brought a new contemporary style to the statues of the Sagrada Familia in 1986, which can be found on the façade of the Nativity of Gaudí.

ticket-sagrada-familia

Nativity facade with the Arc de Chaînette structure.

The consecration of a Basilica.

The Sagrada Familia was consecrated on November 7, 2010 by Pope Benedict XVI and became a Minor Basilica. On October 18, 2018, after 136 years, the Basilica of the Sagrada Familia finally obtained its building permit from the Barcelona City Council. Completion of the works planned for 2026 to celebrate the centenary of Antoni Gaudí’s death, however, the finishing touches will certainly continue until 2032.

Access with the Sagrada Familia ticket.

With your ticket, you will have access to the Sagrada Familia as well as the Gaudí Museum and the construction laboratory. Access to the towers is extra.

To know before visiting:

It is important to book your ticket-cut-file because visits are limited to a quota of entries. A time slot is defined, please respect your arrival time. After the purchase of the Sagrada Familia ticket, it is neither modifiable nor refundable.

If you visit the towers, storage lockers will be available to store your bag and backpack. A deposit of €1 or a token will be required.

ticket sagrada familia

The nave of the Sagrada Familia.

#Schedule
ticket parc guell horaire

Schedules:

 November > February: 9AM to 6PM
March: 9AM to 7PM
April > September: 9AM to 8PM
October: 9AM to 7PM
25, 26 Dec, 1 and 6 Jan: 9AM to 2PM

Time to expect:

Audio-guided tour: 1H30.
With visit of the Tours: 2H15

#plan

 

Itinerary

By subway:

  L2     L5    Sagrada Familia Station (1 min. by foot)

By bus:

Mallorca – Marina stop, lines 19, 33, 34, 43, 44, 50, 51, B20 i B24 (bus stop itinerary).

By Tourist bus hop-on hop-off:

Blue line / Sagrada Familia stop.

Discover other great monuments such as the Park Guell, the Sagrada Familia, BCN Citypass and the Colosseum. Sagrada-familia.fr does not depend on any official body.

Visiter la Sagrada Familia

TICKET SAGRADA FAMILIA ONLINE.

#sagrada

ticket

Sagrada Familia

Le monument symbolique de Barcelone.

La Sagrada Familia est le monument le plus emblématique du Modernisme Catalan. Œuvre inachevée du génie Antoni Gaudí. La Sagrada Familia attire plus de 3,2 millions de visiteurs et devient ainsi le monument le plus visité d’Espagne, devant le Musée du Prado de Madrid. En 2005, la crypte et la façade de la nativité réalisé par Antoni Gaudí a été déclaré Patrimoine de l’Humanité par l’Unesco. La Sagrada Familia étant un Temple expiatoire, celle-ci n’a pu profiter de financements publique. L’ensemble des travaux ont été financés par l’aumône et aux fonds récoltés lors des visites. La Sagrada Familia devient un monument de plus en plus populaire avec une fréquentation croissante depuis 1992.

Le premier architecte est Francisco de Paula del Villar y Lozano, il imagine une église au style Néogothique. L’Évêque José Maria de Urquinaona y Vidot posa la première pierre en 1882. En 1883, après de nombreux désaccords, Gaudí, âgé alors de 31 ans, est recommandé par son prédécesseur afin d’apporter un projet plus ambitieux de la Sagrada Familia.

ticket-sagrada-familia

Pilliers et voûtes hyperboliques à l’intérieur de la Basilique.

Un projet ambitieux.

Antoni Gaudí voulait faire de la Sagrada Familia le monument le plus haut et le plus imposant de Barcelone. Il décide alors de consacrer le reste de sa carrière au monument et impose ses dimensions. 4500 m², 120 mètres de long, une nef gigantesque pouvant accueillir 14 000 personnes. Une structure innovante comme l’arc en chaînette et les voûtes hyperboliques. En 1885, Antoni Gaudí inaugure la Crypte, l’équipe de construction se composait seulement de 8 hommes manœuvres, 10 tailleurs de pierres, 12 sculpteurs et charpentiers. C’est avec la complexité d’un projet si grandiose que Gaudí finit par comprendre qu’il ne verrait jamais de son vivant la Sagrada Familia achevée.

Plutôt que de se concentrer sur la partie centrale de la Sagrada Familia tel que la nef, Antoni Gaudí avait peur que le projet soit abandonné à sa mort si l’œuvre ne semblait pas hors norme. C’est pourquoi 6 ans plus tard, les ouvriers débutèrent les travaux de la façade de la Nativité.

Gaudí voulait achever cette porte démesurée permettant ainsi de lancer tout un projet d’envergure. Renversé par un tramway le 10 juin 1926, il fût enterré dans la Crypte de la Chapelle de la mère de Dieu.

10 ans durant, l’assistant d’Antoni Gaudí, Domènec Sugrañes continua l’œuvre inachevée avec la finalisation des 3 tours permettant de parachever la façade de la Nativité. Le 10 Juillet 1936, des Anticléricaux Catalans incendièrent l’Atelier de Gaudí où tous ses plans, ébauches, maquettes étaient conservés. Tout fût détruit. Il ne resta aucun document permettant de terminer l’ouvrage.

En 1944, les travaux reprirent sous la direction des architectes Francesc Quintana, Isidre Puig i Boada et Lluís Bonet i Garí, ils s’acquittèrent de cette tâche difficile. Jaume Busquets réalisa un réel travail de sculpture. Josep Maria Subirachs apporta en 1986 un nouveau style contemporain aux statues de la Sagrada Familia que l’on peut retrouver sur la façade de la Nativité de Gaudí.

ticket-sagrada-familia

Façade de la Nativité avec la structure en Arc de Chaînette.

La consécration d’une Basilique.

La Sagrada Familia est consacrée le 7 Novembre 2010 par le Pape Benoît XVI et devient Basilique Mineure. Le 18 Octobre 2018, après 136 ans, la Basilique de la Sagrada Familia obtient enfin son permis de construire auprès de la Mairie de Barcelone. Fin des travaux prévu pour 2026 afin de célébrer le centenaire de la mort de Antoni Gaudí, néanmoins les finitions se prolongerons certainement jusqu’en 2032.

Accès avec le ticket Sagrada Familia

Avec votre ticket Sagrada Familia, vous aurez accès à la Sagrada Familia ainsi qu’au Musée de Gaudí et du laboratoire de construction. Les accès aux tours sont en supplément du ticket Sagrada Familia.

À savoir avant de visiter :

Il est important de réserver votre ticket Sagrada Familia coupe-file car les visites sont limitées à un quota d’entrées. Un créneau horaire est défini, veuillez à respecter votre heure d’arrivée. Après l’achat du ticket Sagrada Familia celui-ci n’est ni modifiable, ni remboursable.

Si vous effectuez une visite des tours, des casiers de rangement seront à disposition pour y déposer votre sac et sac à dos. Une consigne d’1€ ou un jeton vous sera nécessaire.

ticket sagrada familia

La nef de la Sagrada Familia.

#horaires
ticket parc guell horaire

Horaires :

 Novembre > Février : 9H à 18H
Mars : 9H à 19H
Avril > Septembre : 9H à 20H
Octobre : 9H à 19H
25, 26 déc., 1er et 6 janv : 9H à 14H

Temps à prévoir :

Circuit audio-guidée : 1H30.
Avec visite des Tours : 2H15

#plan

 

Itinéraire

En métro :

  L2     L5    Station Sagrada Familia (1 min. à pied)

En bus :

Arrêt Mallorca – Marina, lignes 19, 33, 34, 43, 44, 50, 51, B20 i B24 (itinéraire arrêt de bus).

En bus Touristique hop-on hop-off :

Ligne Bleu / Arrêt Sagrada Familia.

Discover other great monuments such as the park guell, the sagrada familia and the Colosseum. Sagrada-familia.fr does not depend on any official body.